top of page

Getting Fit! (Or at least trying to)


Welcome back amigos!

I have decided that a portion of the "Fitness" section is going to be devoted to me tracking and sharing what I do every single day this year to get more fit. I have gotten a slightly late start to the year, as we were out of town for the New Year. That being said, I am back home and ready to get down to business!

Now one last thing to attend to before I get started. I want to make it clear that I am NOT a fitness professional. I have worked out recreation-ally and on recreational sports teams on and off since high school, but I am not a professional. I am simply a regular guy who wants to get in better shape and share his journey with anyone who wants to also make improvements to their life. Now lets get to it!

I kicked off this morning with the following exercises first thing after waking up:

5 reps of each exercise for a total of 2 sets

1. Kettlebell Clean & Press

2. Kettlebell One Armed Swing (Both Sides)

3. Kettlebell Goblet Squat

4. Kettlebell Deadlift

5. Burpees

6. Bicycle Crunches (20 on each side)

7. Kettlebell Weighted Sit Ups

I then did 5 reps of each exercise below for a total of 2 sets:

1. Pull-Ups

2. Split Squat Jump

3. One Legged Squats (each side)

4. Dive Bomb Push Ups

For my pull-ups I use the pull-up bar below:

It latches into the doorway and works like a dream! I used the ones that sat on top of the door frame before, but I had that fall off while using it a couple of times. This pull-up bar hasn't failed me yet!

That's it for the AM workout! I used a 30 pound kettlebell for everything. I know that is not much weight, but I haven't been exercising and I want to start nice and easy so I don't injure myself. Also, first thing in the morning I am not properly warmed up and don't want to do anything too strenuous. It took me about 15 minutes to do all of the workout. Next time I will time myself to get accurate results.

Also got in a PM workout today! (This is pretty rare.) I am trying this workout from Men's Fitness: The New Year Total Body Reconstruction Plan.

Basically, I obliterated my chest and back today. I hope I can scratch my own back tomorrow. Let me know in the comments what you think about this work out plan!

Happy workouts,

Nic

The Millennial Methods Fam

Image above courtesy of Wix.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page