top of page

Overcoming a Lifetime of Digestive Issues

I was recently accused of being evangelical about my new Keto diet/lifestyle. Not a fan of that word or the implied analogy, I was gravely hurt by this comment and thought more about my behavior in regards to my Keto transition. Maybe I had been too enthusiastic, talking too much about it, championing its benefits, and encouraging everyone I know to try it. I have to remind myself that even though my life has improved so much from this diet, it is not the panacea for all. All I can do is share my story to those who are interested or curious about the Keto diet. Here is my start.

I have suffered from digestive issues pretty much my entire life. Beginning as a young child, I can remember throwing up frequently and experiencing such bad stomach cramps that I couldn’t wear pants over my swollen belly or stand up straight. I would crawl to my bedroom and try to sleep the pain off. Numerous doctor visits were useless. I was told I was everything from lactose-intolerant to suffering from IBS or IBD, maybe Crohn’s disease, or maybe just an emotional stomach. Every kid loves to hear that. All the pain you are experiencing is just in your head.

Over the years, I tried so many different diets to no avail. I tried dairy-free for years, the FODMAPs strict to the guidelines, the AIP diet, as well as vegan in which I was so low energy, all I did was sleep and nap. Not the answer, especially during grad school.

I was beginning to accept that this was my life. Missing night's out with friends because I was too swollen and in pain to wear pants, throwing up at work to quietly and quickly brush my teeth before my next meeting, or an unexpected sneeze that soiled my pants. I had normalized these situations and accepted that this was my life. Eating, as routinely as possible, in small portions to stabilize my blood sugar while not upsetting my stomach was my daily chore. Trying endlessly to figure out what was wrong with me and why I was having such a hard time digesting food even with probiotic supplements and digestive enzymes. I eat well. I eat organic. Or so I thought…

So, when my husband mentioned to me that he wanted to try a new diet that was very different than anything I had tried, I jumped on board. Anything is worth a try, right? And I am so glad that I did!

Keto is so different from any other diet that I have tried! This is the only diet that actually fundamentally changes your metabolism and your body’s relationship to food and energy. After my quick "Keto flu" spell in my first week of transitions, I have not been sick once. And, I mean, not once! As someone who was pretty much sick every day and swollen with cramping pains every night, this alone has changed my life. The last two months of my life have felt incredible.

On top of that, my energy levels are amazing. For the first time I can remember, I wake up in the mornings with energy. I have sustained energy throughout the day without the routine afternoon crash. I don't have to stick to a strict eating timeline throughout the day, and can miss several hours without eating and without getting hungry or the “hangries” which I used to be famous for. This may sound over exaggerated, but for the first time in my life, I feel in control of my body and liberated, not stifled, by my eating.

The Keto diet is literally changing my life. So, if you are interested in the Keto diet and want to give it a try, please use Nic and I as a resource, and join the bandwagon to gastrointestinal greatness. We’d be happy to answer any questions you may have and help you through the transition.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page